Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center Connect From UtahConnect From HomeConnect From LibraryConnect From Inside State Agency

Comprehensive content for all literary research

The Literary Reference Center is comprehensive, full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.

Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.

In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus.

Content Includes:

  • More than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
  • More than 86,000 articles/essays of literary criticism
  • More than 253,000 author biographies
  • Nearly 450 literary journals
  • More than 800,000 book reviews
  • More than 91,000 classic and contemporary poems
  • More than 24,000 classic and contemporary short stories
  • More than 8,600 author interviews
  • More than 8,200 classic novels